Infrastructure

Infrastructure

World's Top-Ranked Infrastructure

The excellence of Germany’s infrastructure is confirmed by a number of recent studies, including various UNCTAD investor surveys and the Swiss IMD’s World Competitiveness Yearbook. In the former, Germany’s reliable infrastructure is singled out as one of the TOP 5 key attractiveness indicators of the economy.

The 2015-16 Global Competitiveness Report’s ranking includes high marks for the quality of German roads and airports, the rail and port infrastructure, and the country’s outstanding communications and energy infrastructure.

Businesses profit from Germany’s excellent logistics infrastructure: Germany’s logistics network includes not only the port of Hamburg – Europe’s third largest container port, but also Bremerhaven – one of the world’s largest car port for vehicle traffic, and Duisburg – home of the continent’s largest inland port. Measuring the logistics performance of 160 countries, the World Bank’s Logistics Performance Index (LPI) 2016 ranks Germany’s logistics performance and infrastructure as the best in the world.

Logistics Performance and Quality of Infrastructure (2016)
Country LPI RankInfrastructure RankCountryLPI RankInfrastructure Rank
Germany11France1615
Luxembourg24Spain2325
Sweden33Czech Republic2635
Netherlands42China2723
Singapore56Hungary3132
Belgium614Poland3345
Austria712Slovak Republic4139
United Kingdom85Slovenia5043
Hong Kong910Ukraine8084
United States108Russian Federation9994
Source: World Bank 2016

Together with over 250 additional inland ports, Germany’s port infrastructure facilitates the efficient delivery of goods in Europe’s largest market. The Rhine and Elbe rivers serve as major arteries for barge traffic to the deep water ports in various river bights and along the north and northwest coastlines.

Germany has a dense network of airports, of which 22 offer international service. Frankfurt ranks Europe’s largest and third largest airport in terms of cargo and passenger volume respectively.

The country’s highway system has one of the greatest kilometer density levels in Europe and the 37,900 km of railway tracks are nearly enough to circle the globe while its high-speed railway network, with speeds of up to 300 km/h, is the sixth largest in the world.

Actions

Fabian Möpert Fabian Möpert | © GTAI

Contact Us

Fabian Möpert

‎+49 30 200 099 510

Silvia Obajdin Silvia Obajdin | © GTAI

Contact Us

Silvia Obajdin

‎+49 30 200 099 555

E-Service

Container with Crane | © shutterstock.com/Alex Kolokythas Photography

Logistics Industry

Located at Europe's center, Germany is the continent's largest economy and most important logistics hub, offering world-class infrastructure and cutting-edge logistics services.

More

Infrastruktur

Infrastruktur

Weltweit erstklassige Infrastruktur

Deutschland hat eine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur – das bestätigen mehrere Studien, einschließlich verschiedener Investoren-relevanter Studien der UNCTAD und des IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook..Letzteres benennt die verlässliche Infrastruktur als einer der TOP 5 Indikatoren für die Attraktivität des Standortes Deutschland.

Im Global Competitiveness Report für 2015/16 des Weltwirtschaftsforums wird die Qualität der deutschen Straßen, Flughäfen, Seehäfen und des Schienennetzes mit hohen Punktzahlen gewürdigt. Dies gilt auch für den hervorragenden Zustand der Kommunikations-Infrastruktur und des Energie-Versorgungsnetzes.

Unternehmen können von Deutschlands hervorragender Logistikinfrastruktur nur profitieren: Zum deutschen Logistik-Netzwerk gehört mit Hamburg nicht nur der drittgrößte Frachthafen Europas, sondern mit Bremerhaven auch eines der weltweit größten Terminals für Fahrzeugfracht und mit Duisburg der größte Binnenhafen des Kontinents. Im Logistics Performance Index (LPI) der Weltbank erreicht Deutschland im Vergleich mit 160 weiteren Ländern die besten Werte und erreicht erneut den ersten Rang.

Leistungsfähigkeit der Logistik und Qualität der Infrastruktur (2016)
Land LPI (Rang)Infrastruktur (Rang)Land LPI (Rang)Infrastruktur (Rang)
Deutschland11Frankreich1615
Luxemburg24Spanien2325
Schweden33Tschechien2635
Niederlande42China2723
Singapur56Ungarn3132
Belgien614Polen3345
Österreich712Slowakei4139
Vereinigtes Königreich85Slowenien5043
Hong Kong910Ukraine8084
USA108Russland9994
Quelle: Weltbank 2016

Das deutsche Wasserstraßensystem verbindet diese Umschlagplätze mit weiteren 250 Häfen, über die der größte europäische Markt effektiv mit Waren beliefert wird. Rhein und Elbe bilden dabei die Hauptverkehrsadern für Lastkähne, die Tiefseehäfen an den verschiedenen Flussbuchten und entlang der Nord- und Nordwest-Küste ansteuern.

Deutschland verfügt über ein dichtes Netz an Flughäfen. 25 davon werden international angeflogen. Frankfurt ist in Europa der größte Cargo-Umschlagplatz und der viertgrößte Passagierflughafen.

Das deutsche Autobahnnetz hat eine besonders hohe Kilometerdichte in Europa. Der Bahnverkehr läuft zudem über 37.900 km Schienen – fast genug, um die Erde damit zu umrunden. Deutschlands Schnellbahnnetz, über das Züge mit bis zu 300 km/h ihr Ziel erreichen, ist das sechstgrößte der Welt.

Funktionen

Fabian Möpert Fabian Möpert | © GTAI

Kontakt

Fabian Möpert

‎+49 30 200 099 510

Silvia Obajdin Silvia Obajdin | © GTAI

Kontakt

Silvia Obajdin

‎+49 30 200 099 555

Container am Kran | © shutterstock.com/Alex Kolokythas Photography

Logistikbranche

Durch seine ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur und modernste Logistik-Dienstleistungen ist Deutschland die wichtigste Logistik-Drehscheibe in Europa.

Mehr