R&D Landscape

R&D Landscape

Rising R&D Expenditure

In Germany, enormous sums of money are invested in the development of new technologies and innovations. No other country in Europe invests greater amounts in research and development (R&D). For more than a decade, Germany’s R&D expenditures have been rising continuously.

In 2015, public and private spending on research projects in Germany amounted to approximately EUR 87 billion – representing 2.5 % of Gross Domestic Product (GDP). This share places Germany fifth in Europe, behind the Scandinavian countries (Finland, Sweden, Denmark) and Austria, but significantly ahead of France and the United Kingdom and above EU-average.

This means that Germany is well on track to achieving the 3 % goal specified by the European Union within the coming years. More than two thirds of the expenditure have been accounted for by research intensive private business.

Bar & Line Graphs: Total R&D Expenditures in Germany | © GTAI calculations based on data from Eurostat 2017

Actions

Thomas Bozoyan Thomas Bozoyan | © GTAI

Contact Us

Thomas Bozoyan

‎+49 30 200 099 502

E-Service

Forschungs­landschaft

Forschungslandschaft

Steigende F&E-Aufwendungen

In Deutschland werden enorme Summen in die Entwicklung neuer Technologien und Innovationen investiert. Kein anderes europäisches Land gibt mehr für Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) aus. Bereits seit über zehn Jahren steigen die deutschen F&E-Ausgaben kontinuierlich an.

Im Jahr 2015 wendeten Staat, Hochschulen und Wirtschaft für Forschungsprojekte am Standort Deutschland ca. 8784,5 Mrd. Euro auf. Das entspricht 2,5 Prozent vom BIP. Mit diesem Anteil belegt Deutschland im EU-Vergleich den fünften Platz, hinter den nordischen Ländern (Finnland, Schweden, Dänemark) und Österreich, jedoch deutlich vor Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich und dem EU-Durchschnitt.

Damit befindet sich die Bundesrepublik auf dem besten Wege, das von der Europäischen Union vorgegebene 3-Prozent-Ziel schon bald zu erreichen. Mehr als zwei Drittel der Aufwendungen werden schon jetzt von der forschungsstarken Privatwirtschaft getragen.
Balkendiagramm: Ausgaben für F&E in Deutschland | © GTAI-Berechnungen nach Eurostat 2017

Thomas Bozoyan Thomas Bozoyan | © GTAI

Kontakt

Thomas Bozoyan

‎+49 30 200 099 502