R&D Landscape

R&D Landscape

Rising R&D Expenditure

In Germany, enormous sums of money are invested in the development of new technologies and innovations. No other country in Europe invests greater amounts in research and development (R&D). For more than a decade, Germany’s R&D expenditures have been rising continuously.

In 2015, public and private spending on research projects in Germany amounted to approximately EUR 87 billion – representing 2.5 % of Gross Domestic Product (GDP). This share places Germany fifth in Europe, behind the Scandinavian countries (Finland, Sweden, Denmark) and Austria, but significantly ahead of France and the United Kingdom and above EU-average.

This means that Germany is well on track to achieving the 3 % goal specified by the European Union within the coming years. More than two thirds of the expenditure have been accounted for by research intensive private business.

Bar & Line Graphs: Total R&D Expenditures in Germany | © GTAI calculations based on data from Eurostat 2017

Einstein's Heirs

The strong research location of Germany has always contributed to the emergence of important world-class scientists. Albert Einstein's career started in Germany and culminated in the award of the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1921. However, the continuity of Germany's research quality is not only underlined by Max Planck and Robert Koch, but also by the two last Nobel Prize Winners, Thomas C. Südhof (2013) and Harald zur Hausen (2008): more than 70 scientific Nobel Prizes were awarded to Germans.
Germany is home of the biggest research community in Europe – 20 percent of the scientists in the EU live and work here. Moreover, German researchers cooperate in projects all over the world. For example, the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft currently participates in 2,500 international research projects with about 5,000 partners in more than 110 countries.

Pie Chart: National Share of total EU Researcher Personnel | © Eurostat 2017, Data of 2016

Proven Transfer of Knowledge

Germany's R&D landscape is characterized by a close cooperation between science and economy. It is based on the dense and decentralized network of more than 400 universities and technical colleges. But the availability of highly qualified university graduates all over Germany is not the only thing it ensures.

Also the private industry uses these valuable opportunities for cooperation and the access channels to fundamental and applied research at the universities. The findings of the work performed there are effectively used for industrial implementation. Scientists can easily be integrated into the corporate teams of developers and researchers. In addition, laboratory equipment is increasingly made available by the institutes.

It is, thus, not surprising that international decision makers praise the knowledge transfer between companies and universities in Germany.

Renowned Research Institutes

In a worldwide comparison, Germany holds a unique position thanks to its publicly subsidized research communities outside the universities.

The application-oriented research communities, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, provide mainly small and medium-sized companies with access to top research. Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft invests EUR 2.1 billion of research money in its more than 69 facilities and over 24,500 employees. A major part of the funds is generated by contractual research in collaboration with the industry.

Leibniz-Gemeinschaft's network comprises 88institutes and almost 19,000 employees. ,Renowned institutes for fundamental research are located in Germany as well. Max-Planck-Gesellschaft and Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft enable companies to outsource costly fundamental research, thus reducing the risk associated with the development of new products and decreasing R&D expenditure.

The interaction of universities, research organizations, industrial research and other actors constitutes a division of labor in the creation of value-added new knowledge which is unique in the world. This differentiated performance of tasks by the institutes involved covers the entire range from pre-competitive fundamental research mostly supported by the public sector up to tradeable application research financed by the industry.

Diagramm: R&D Expenditures and Type of Research by Actor | © Federal Statistical Office 2017

Effective Networks of Competency

Germany is characterized by an advanced structure of highly innovative regional networks and clusters providing companies with excellent access to knowledge, technologies and value chains. Interactive research and learning processes ensure a faster diffusion of technology, including a subsequent introduction in the market.

A special quality seal is the membership in the “go-cluster“ initiative of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy. This initiative includes already about 100 clusters that meet stringent criteria for membership. Admission depends on the level of cooperation between industry and science. This includes the extent to which a potential member is actively dedicated to innovation. Additionally, the “go-cluster”-membership facilitates access to funds for the development of special cluster services.

Cooperative community research is also taking place in the research networks of the industry-funded “Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen (AiF – Work Group of Industrial Research Associations).“ More than 50,000 small and medium-sized companies have organized approx. 100 consortiums and perform research projects relevant for specific spheres of technology. It facilitates the search for partners and the access to university networks and helps to overcome structure-based disadvantages of SMEs in the field of R&D.

Trend-Setting Reform Initiatives

The Federal Government and the Federal States of Germany set the course for facing the challenges of an intensive, global innovation competition on the path to a knowledge-based economy. Three large reform instruments ensure that the German scientific system is equipped for the future.

The objective of the excellence initiative is to expand innovative top research at the universities. Until 2017, it subsidizes 99 projects, including graduate schools and excellence clusters, to increase their international visibility and competitiveness. Subsequent to the excellence initiative, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research plans to introduce a long-term program for promoting top-level research at universities and strengthen Germany’s position as one of the leading research locations worldwide. The federal and state governments will annually provide 533 million Euro for this matter.

Comprehensive financial funds are also provided under the Hochschulpakt 2020 (Higher Education Pact) reform initiative to satisfy the need for highly skilled professionals. By 2023, this program will help to meet the demand of a rising number of applicants by creating 760,000 additional college and university places.

These reform initiatives will be completed by the “Pakt für Forschung und Innovation” (Joint Initiative for Research and Innovation). The program is dedicated to extra-university research institutes to secure their funding of international research projects. In order to achieve this objective, the Federal Government and the Federal States will increase their annual grants by 3 percent in the years from 2016-2020,providing the amount of 3.9 billion EUR of additional research funds.

Another objective of the Federal Government, in addition to the reform of the scientific system, is the development and exploitation of international R&D potentials. The internationalization strategy pronounced in 2008 has initiated a high number of measures, including the establishment of Deutsche Wissenschafts- und Innovationshäuser (German Houses of Science and Innovation) in major metropolitan areas worldwide. These are centralized points of contact and service that offer researchers and companies to obtain information on Germany as a business location for science.

Actions

Thomas Bozoyan Thomas Bozoyan | © GTAI

Contact Us

Thomas Bozoyan

‎+49 30 200 099 502

E-Service

Forschungs­landschaft

Forschungslandschaft

Steigende F&E-Aufwendungen

In Deutschland werden enorme Summen in die Entwicklung neuer Technologien und Innovationen investiert. Kein anderes europäisches Land gibt mehr für Forschung und Entwicklung (F&E) aus. Bereits seit über zehn Jahren steigen die deutschen F&E-Ausgaben kontinuierlich an.

Im Jahr 2015 wendeten Staat, Hochschulen und Wirtschaft für Forschungsprojekte am Standort Deutschland ca. 8784,5 Mrd. Euro auf. Das entspricht 2,5 Prozent vom BIP. Mit diesem Anteil belegt Deutschland im EU-Vergleich den fünften Platz, hinter den nordischen Ländern (Finnland, Schweden, Dänemark) und Österreich, jedoch deutlich vor Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich und dem EU-Durchschnitt.

Damit befindet sich die Bundesrepublik auf dem besten Wege, das von der Europäischen Union vorgegebene 3-Prozent-Ziel schon bald zu erreichen. Mehr als zwei Drittel der Aufwendungen werden schon jetzt von der forschungsstarken Privatwirtschaft getragen.
Balkendiagramm: Ausgaben für F&E in Deutschland | © GTAI-Berechnungen nach Eurostat 2017

Einsteins Erben

Die Stärke des Forschungsstandorts Deutschland bringt stets auch bedeutende Wissenschaftler von Weltrang hervor. Albert Einsteins Karriere z.B, die 1921 zur Verleihung des Nobelpreises für Physik führte, begann in Deutschland. Nicht nur Max Planck und Robert Koch, sondern auch die letzten Nobelpreisträger Thomas C. Südhof (2013) und Harald zur Hausen (2008) unterstreichen die Kontinuität der Forschungsqualität in Deutschland: Mehr als 70 wissenschaftliche Nobelpreise wurden an Deutsche vergeben.

Deutschland beherbergt die größte Forschungsgemeinschaft in Europa – 20 Prozent der Wissenschaftler in der EU leben und arbeiten hier. Deutsche Forscher wirken darüber hinaus an Projekten in der ganzen Welt mit. Zum Beispiel erarbeitet die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft ihre Forschungsergebnisse mit etwa 5,000Partnern an Forschungseinrichtungen in mehr als 110 Ländern.

Anteil der Wissenschaftler in der EU (2015) | © Eurostat 2017, (*) Daten von 2016

Bewährter Wissenschaftstransfer

Die deutsche F&E-Landschaft zeichnet sich durch eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft aus. Grundlage hierfür bildet das dichte und dezentrale Netz aus über 400 Universitäten und Fachhochschulen. Nicht nur die leichte Verfügbarkeit von hochqualifizierten Hochschulabsolventen wird damit deutschlandweit sichergestellt.

Auch die wertvollen Kooperationsmöglichkeiten und Zugangskanäle zu Grundlagen-, und angewandter Hochschulforschung werden von der Privatwirtschaft genutzt. Dort erarbeitete Erkenntnisse werden so effektiv zur industriellen Umsetzung vorangetrieben. Wissenschaftler können problemlos in die unternehmenseigenen Teams aus Entwicklern und Forschern integriert werden. Zudem wird die Laboreinrichtung vermehrt von den Instituten gestellt.

Es verwundert also nicht, dass internationale Entscheidungsträger dem Wissenstransfer zwischen Unternehmen und Universitäten in Deutschland ein sehr gutes Zeugnis ausstellen.

Renommierte Forschungsinstitute

Deutschland besitzt durch seine öffentlich geförderten außeruniversitären Forschungsgemeinschaften im weltweiten Vergleich ein absolutes Alleinstellungsmerkmal.

Die anwendungsorientierten Institute, Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, ermöglichen vor allem kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen den Zugriff auf Spitzenforschung. Mit mehr als 69Einrichtungen und 24.500 Mitarbeitern setzt die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft dafür 2,1 Milliarden Euro an Forschungsgeldern pro Jahr ein. Ein Großteil der Finanzierungsgrundlage wird durch Kooperationen mit der Industrie in Form von Vertragsforschung erwirtschaftet.

Das Netzwerk der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft umfasst 88Institute mit ca.19.000 Mitarbeitern. Auch die weltweit renommiertesten Institute der Grundlagenforschung sind in Deutschland beheimatet. Die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft erlauben Unternehmen, kostspielige Grundlagenforschung auszulagern. Sie mindern damit das Risiko der Entwicklung von neuen Produkten und senken die Kosten für F&E.

Das Zusammenspiel von Universitäten, Forschungsorganisationen, Industrieforschung und weiteren Akteuren stellt eine international einzigartige Arbeitsteilung in der Wertschöpfung neuen Wissens dar. Die differenzierte Aufgabenwahrnehmung der beteiligten Institutionen füllt das gesamte Spektrum von vorwettbewerblicher, meist von öffentlicher Hand unterstützter Grundlagenforschung bis zu industriefinanzierter, kommerzialisierbarer Anwendungsforschung.

Diagramm: F&E-Aufwendungen (Mrd. EUR, 2015) nach Forschungscharakter und Akteuren | © Statistisches Bundesamt 2017

Effektive Kompetenzzentren

Deutschland zeichnet sich zudem durch eine ausgereifte Struktur hochinnovativer regionaler Netzwerke und Cluster aus, die Unternehmen einen exzellenten Zugang zu Wissen, Technologien und Wertschöpfungsketten bietet. Interaktive Forschungs- und Lernprozesse sorgen dabei für eine schnellere Technologiediffusion mit anschließender Markteinführung.
Als besonderes Qualitätssiegel gilt dabei die Mitgliedschaft in der Initiative „go-cluster“ des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie. Hier wurden rund 100 Cluster aufgenommen, die harte Kriterien erfüllen. Dabei wird unter anderem die Kooperation von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft genau begutachtet und überprüft, wie stark sich das Netzwerk seinem Innovationsschwerpunkt widmet. Die Initiative ermöglicht auch Förderungen, um besondere Clusterdienstleistungen zu entwickeln.

Kooperative Gemeinschaftsforschung findet außerdem in den Forschungsnetzwerken der industriegetragenen „Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen (AiF)“ statt. Mehr als 50.000 kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen haben sich in ca. 100 Konsortien organisiert und führen technologiefeldrelevante Forschungsvorhaben durch. Neben der Überwindung von strukturbedingten Nachteilen von KMU im Bereich von F&E, wird die Partnersuche sowie der Zugang zu Universitätsnetzwerken vereinfacht.

Zukunftsweisende Reforminitiativen

Auf dem Weg in die Wissensökonomie stellen Bund und Länder die Weichen um den großen Herausforderungen eines intensiven, globalen Innovationswettbewerbs zu begegnen. Mit drei großen Reforminstrumentarien wird das deutsche Wissenschaftssystem fit gemacht für die Zukunft.

Dabei dient die Exzellenzinitiative dem Ausbau innovativer Spitzenforschung an den Hochschulen. Gefördert werden noch bis 2017 insgesamt 99 Projekte, darunter Graduiertenschulen, Exzellenzcluster und Zukunftsprojekte zum Ausbau der universitären Forschung, um die internationale Sichtbarkeit und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu erhöhen. Nach Auslaufen der Initiative im Jahr 2017 wird es erstmalig ein Exzellenzprogramm geben, welches es dem Bund und den Ländern langfristig ermöglicht die Spitzenforschung an den Universitäten weiter zu fördern und Deutschlands Position als einer der international führenden Wissenschaftsstandorte weiter auszubauen. Bund und Länder werden dafür jährlich 533 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung stellen.

Unter der Reforminitiative Hochschulpakt 2020 werden umfangreiche finanzielle Mittel zur Verfügung gestellt, um den steigenden Bedarf an hochgebildeten Fachkräften zu befriedigen. Bis 2023 wird mit Hilfe dieser Programmlinie ein bedarfsgerechtes Angebot für erwartete 760.000 zusätzliche Studienanfängerinnen und –anfänger geschaffen.
Komplettiert werden die Reformanstrengungen durch den Pakt für Forschung und Innovation. Im Fokus stehen die Einrichtungen der außeruniversitären Forschung, die ihre internationalen Spitzenpositionen mit Hilfe finanzieller Planungssicherheit ausbauen sollen. Zur Erreichung dieses Ziels werden Bund und Länder von 2016-2020 eine jährliche Erhöhung der Zuschüsse um 3 Prozent gewähren, was insgesamt zusätzlichen Forschungsmitteln von 3,9 Milliarden Euro entspricht.

Neben der Reformierung des Wissenschaftssystems hat sich die Bundesregierung auch die Erschließung und Ausschöpfung internationaler F&E-Potenziale zum Ziel gesetzt. Mit der 2008 formulierten Internationalisierungsstrategie wurde eine Vielzahl an Maßnahmen ins Leben gerufen. Dazu gehört unter anderem der Aufbau von Deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationshäusern in den wichtigsten Metropolen der Welt. Als zentrale Anlauf- und Servicestellen für Forscher und Unternehmen können sich Interessierte über den Wissenschaftsstandort Deutschland informieren.

Funktionen

Thomas Bozoyan Thomas Bozoyan | © GTAI

Kontakt

Thomas Bozoyan

‎+49 30 200 099 502