Demographic Change

Silver Economy - Peace Sign | © gettyimages.com / Patricia Toth McComick

Demographic Change

Global Megatrend

Major global demographic change continues apace in this the second decade of the 21st century. The current world population of 7 billion is expected to reach 9 billion by 2050. The global population is expanding, but at a slower rate than before, with western industrial nations experiencing shrinking populations while population growth in the developing world continues unabated.

Of one thing we can be sure: The world is getting older as populations in both developed and developing economies live longer and healthier lives.

Demographic Change in Germany

Home to a population of around 80 million people, Germany has the second oldest population in the world after Japan. According to the OECD, life expectancy at birth in Germany is almost 81 years – higher than the OECD average.

Already home to the highest proportion of over-65s in the European Union, Germany’s over-65 population will increase to 24 million by 2035 – a seven million increase on the current 17 million. As such, over-65s will represent a third of the domestic population - with people aged 50 and older accounting for half of the total population.

The “Silver Economy” - Shaping Tomorrow Markets

“The over-50s already constitute an important consumer group in terms of numbers and purchasing power. The German market for older people also offers a lot of innovative potential for products and services. Solutions have yet to be found for many requirements. That makes Germany an extremely interesting market for foreign investors.” says Melanie Wiegand, expert in the field of demographic change.

Demographic change has far-reaching repercussions for wider society as people live longer lives. Historically neglected as consumers of private consumer goods and services, today’s senior citizens or “best agers” are highly differentiated in terms of their needs; adhering to the maxim that “sixty is the new fifty” and with social and leisure interests to match their more active lifestyles.

Older people are much more active than they used to be. They travel, engage in sporting and outdoor activities, and seek to embrace the online world and all it has to offer. They also want to look good while doing it. According to a TNS Infratest study, half of people aged 60 to 70 years of age like to experiment with what they wear. In fact, only the 18 to 29 years of age group has a similar interest in fashion.

More importantly, the net disposable income of married couples aged 65 and over currently averages EUR 2,440 per month. Because older people tend to live in smaller households, their per capita income is higher than that of younger households.

“People who retire today tend to have considerable financial resources. Compared with younger age groups, older people are materially better off on average, and they are frequently property owners. They also have the option of drawing on lifelong savings,” says Melanie Wiegand, expert in the field of demographic change.

Business Driver Golden Age

The rise in Germany’s aging but affluent population sends out a clear message to international investors to get on board and ride Germany’s “silver wave” and take advantage of the “golden ager” business opportunities opening up in Germany and Europe.

The new generation of senior citizens are “golden oldies” in a literal sense. In marked contrast to previous generations, they are in a position to grow old in a manner and fashion of their choosing. And unlike previous generations they enjoy better health, have more money, time and energy to pursue the lifestyles they want.

The highly differentiated requirements within Germany’s aging population presents an array of market opportunities in sectors as diverse as healthcare products and services, household appliances, home furnishings, personal care, and travel. “Differentiation of old age” within the older population is helping create millions of consumers with very specific needs, high levels of disposable income, and importantly, time.

Long neglected as consumers of private consumer goods and services, yesterday’s senior citizens have become today’s “golden agers” - the most important consumer grouping of the future. Companies who establish a foothold in Germany’s forerunner “silver economy” are excellently positioned to launch into European and international markets.

Germany – Europe’s Biggest Silver Economy

Demografic Change - a Worldwide Trend | © http://esa.un.org/unpd/popdev/AgingProfiles2013/default.aspx

Actions

Julia Albrecht Julia Albrecht | © GTAI/Illing & Vossbeck Fotografie

Contact Us

Julia Albrecht

‎+49 (0)30 200 099-608

Meet Us

Cover: markets Germany - Healthy Living | © GTAI

Healthy Living

Golden Oldies - Peace Sign | © gettyimages.com / Patricia Toth McComick

Industries in Germany

Germany is an attractive business location. Take a look into the market and your opportunities in Germany.

More
Webinar: The German Consumer Healthcare (OTC) Market | © GTAI

Webinar Review

Industries

Demografischer Wandel

Silver Economy - Peace Sign | © gettyimages.com / Patricia Toth McComick

Demografischer Wandel

Globaler Megatrend

Weltweit gewinnt der demografische Wandel in der zweiten Hälfte des 21. Jahrhunderts an Tempo. Es wird erwartet, dass die Weltbevölkerung von heute 7 Milliarden auf 9 Milliarden im Jahr 2050 steigt. Obwohl die Weltbevölkerung insgesamt zunimmt, verlangsamt sich die Wachstumsrate. Während die Bevölkerungszahlen sich in den westlichen Industrienationen weiter verringern, wird das Bevölkerungswachstum in den Entwicklungsländern weiter zunehmen.
Eines ist sicher: Die Welt wird älter, da die Menschen in den Industrienationen und in den sich entwickelnden Volkswirtschaften länger und gesünder leben.

Demografischer Wandel in Deutschland

Deutschland hat die zweitälteste Bevölkerung der Welt. Nur Japan hat eine ältere Bevölkerung. Die OECD beziffert die Lebenserwartung bei der Geburt in Deutschland auf fast 81 Jahre, was deutlich über dem OECD-Durchschnitt liegt.

Innerhalb von Europa gilt Deutschland als das Seniorenland und hat den höchsten Bevölkerungsanteil der über 65-Jährigen zu verzeichnen. Es wird prognostiziert, dass dieser Anteil bis zum Jahr 2035 auf 24 Millionen Menschen wachsen wird. Dies entspräche einer Zunahme von 7 Millionen Menschen – von aktuell 17 Millionen älteren Menschen. Damit würden die über 65-Jährigen dann ein Drittel der inländischen Bevölkerung ausmachen - und mehr als die Hälfte der Gesamtbevölkerung in Deutschland wäre über 50 Jahre alt.

Die „Silver Economy“ – Best Ager Märkte von Morgen

“Die Generation 50+ gehört bereits heute - aufgrund ihrer Anzahl und Kaufkraft - zu einer der wichtigsten Konsumentengruppen. Der deutsche Markt für ältere Menschen bietet zudem enormes Potential für innovative Produkte und Dienstleistungen. Für viele Anforderungen müssen noch die entsprechenden Lösungen gefunden werden. Deshalb ist Deutschland ein äußerst interessanter Markt für ausländische Unternehmen”, so Melanie Wiegand, Expertin im Bereich demografischer Wandel.

Da die Menschen immer länger leben, hat der demografische Wandel große Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft. In der Vergangenheit wurden ältere Menschen oft als Verbraucher privater Konsumgüter und Dienstleistungen vernachlässigt. Heute hingegen betrachtet man die Senioren oder die „Best Ager“ als vielschichtige Zielgruppe mit sehr unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen. Getreu dem Motto „sechzig ist das neue fünfzig“ spielen sie eine wichtige gesellschaftliche Rolle und verfolgen Freizeitinteressen, die im Einklang mit ihren aktiven Lebensstilen stehen.

Die älteren Menschen sind deutlich aktiver als früher. Sie reisen, treiben Sport und nehmen an Outdoor-Aktivitäten teil, sie nehmen die Herausforderungen des Internets an und nutzen all seine Möglichkeiten. Und sie wollen bei diesen Aktivitäten auch äußerlich gut aussehen. Laut einer Studie von TNS Infratest experimentiert die Hälfte der 60- bis 70 Jährigen gerne mit ihrer Kleidung. Lediglich die Bevölkerungsgruppe der 18- bis 29 Jährigen zeigt ein ähnlich starkes Interesse an Mode.

Aber wichtiger ist noch, dass das verfügbare Nettoeinkommen verheirateter Paare über 65 Jahre heute bei durchschnittlich 2.440 EUR je Monat liegt. Da ältere Menschen oft mit weniger Menschen in einem Haushalt leben, liegt das Pro-Kopf-Einkommen der älteren Haushalte über dem von jüngeren Haushalten.

„Heute verfügen die meisten Rentner über erhebliche finanzielle Ressourcen. Im Vergleich zu jüngeren Bevölkerungsgruppen geht es den Älteren im Durchschnitt finanziell besser, oft sind sie auch Immobilienbesitzer. Außerdem können sie auf lang angespartes Vermögen zurückgreifen“, sagt Melanie Wiegand, Expertin im Bereich demografischer Wandel.

Wirtschaftsmotor Alter

Der wachsende Anteil älterer, wohlhabender Menschen setzt eindeutige Signale für internationale Unternehmen in den deutschen Markt zu expandieren. So eröffnen sich nicht nur neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten in Deutschland sondern in ganz Europa.

Unternehmen, die sich bereits erfolgreich auf dem silbernen Markt in Deutschland etabliert haben, befinden sich in der besten Ausgangslage, um weitere europäische und internationale Märkte zu erobern.

Die neuen, aktiven Senioren sind buchstäblich als “Golden Oldies” zu verstehen. Im Gegensatz zu früheren Generationen bestimmen sie heute stärker allein, wie sie ihr Alter gestalten möchten. Sie erfreuen sich auch besserer Gesundheit, verfügen über mehr Geld, Zeit und Energie.

Die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse innerhalb der alternden Bevölkerung in Deutschland sorgen für Geschäftsoptionen in den verschiedensten Bereichen. Dazu gehören vor allem Gesundheitsprodukte und -leistungen, Haushaltsgeräte, Wohnmöbel, Körperpflege sowie Reisen. Indem man die ältere Bevölkerung differenziert anspricht, werden viele Verbraucher mit ihren individuellen Bedürfnissen, einem hohen verfügbaren Einkommen und auch mit ausreichend Zeit direkt angesprochen.
Die Senioren von gestern, die lange als Verbraucher privater Konsumgüter und Dienstleistungen vernachlässigt wurden, sind die “Golden Ager” von heute - die zukünftig wichtigste Konsumentengruppe überhaupt.

Deutschland - größter Seniorenmarkt Europas

Demografischer Wandel - ein weltweiter Trend | © http://esa.un.org/unpd/popdev/AgingProfiles2013/default.aspx

Julia Albrecht Julia Albrecht | © GTAI

Kontakt

Julia Albrecht

‎+49 (0)30 200 099-608

Treffen Sie uns

Mehr
Cover: markets Germany - Healthy Living | © GTAI

Der “Zweite” Gesundheitsmarkt

Branchen in Deutschland | © GTAI

Branchen in Deutschland

Deutschland ist ein attraktiver Wirtschaftsstandort. Werfen Sie einen Blick auf den Markt und Ihre Möglichkeiten in Deutschland.

Mehr
Webinar: The German Consumer Healthcare (OTC) Market | © GTAI

Webinar Review [Englisch]

Direktauswahl